Past Presidents

The position of Reno Rodeo President has been held by a colorful and varied assortment of local professionals: from doctors, lawyers, realtors, and casino owners to ranchers, printers, painter and law enforcement, the common denominator being an unbridled passion for the Reno Rodeo and its success.

While the presidency is officially a year long, culminating in the rodeo, the preparation and planning start long before taking office. For most of these people, the journey began as a volunteer, working admissions, parking, and even stalls. Working through wrangler status, becoming a director, and ultimately taking a significant leadership role on the executive board, led them to the presidency.

The past presidents have their own committee, keeping many of the presidents active for years after their term of service is over. Their wisdom and knowledge are sought after by those who are continuing to lead the association. In addition, they lead the charge for the museum, special projects such as the commemorative bricks, and more.

Lightning Williams
Lightning Williams2023
Josh Iveson
Josh Iveson2022
Craig Downie
Craig Downie2020-2021
Mike Torvinen
Mike Torvinen2019
Bill Summy
Bill Summy2018
Brad Sidener
Brad Sidener2017
Scott Peterson
Scott Peterson2016
Larry Stacy
Larry Stacy2015
Bill Bertelson
Bill Bertelson2014
John Tipton
John Tipton2013
Clint Thiesse
Clint Thiesse2012
Mike Lucke
Mike Lucke2011
Ray Callahan
Ray Callahan2010
Gordie Cowan
Gordie Cowan2009
Mark Elston
Mark Elston2008
Kevin McKee
Kevin McKee2007
Jerry David
Jerry David2006
Wayne Lund
Wayne Lund2005
Tom Cates
Tom Cates2004
Jim Carpenter
Jim Carpenter2003
Garry Jackson
Garry Jackson 2002
Steve Hunter
Steve Hunter2001
Mike Mentaberry
Mike Mentaberry2000
Bill Price
Bill Price1999
John Solari
John Solari 1998
Bob Martini
Bob Martini1997
Joe Martin
Joe Martin1996
David Cox
David Cox1995
Dan Warren
Dan Warren1994
Jon Key
Jon Key1993
Frank Cassas
Frank Cassas1992
Bob Lyle
Bob Lyle1991
Bob Britton
Bob Britton1990
Steve Walther
Steve Walther1989
Grant Dalen
Grant Dalen1988
Bob Beach
Bob Beach1987
Jim Caselli
Jim Caselli1986
Chuck Ewolt
Chuck Ewolt1985
Tim Grinsell
Tim Grinsell1984
Lee McKenzie
Lee McKenzie1983
Vince Swinney
Vince Swinney1982
Clint Wells
Clint Wells1981
Jack Walther
Jack Walther1980
Paul Richards
Paul Richards1979
Bill Elwell
Bill Elwell1978
Frank Knafelc
Frank Knafelc1977
Dom Azevedo
Dom Azevedo1976
Frank Groves
Frank Groves1975
Jack Utter
Jack Utter1974
Ernie Martinelli
Ernie Martinelli1973
Jim Halley
Jim Halley1972
Robert Peterson
Robert Peterson1971
Jack Horgan
Jack Horgan1970
B. Zimmerman
B. Zimmerman1969
Harry Drakert
Harry Drakert 1968
George Solari
George Solari1967
Charles Mapes
Charles Mapes1966
G. Southworth
G. Southworth1965
Jack Walther
Jack Walther1964
Harry Frost
Harry Frost1963
Ray Peterson
Ray Peterson1962
Howard Doyle
Howard Doyle1949
Charlie Sadleir
Charlie Sadleir1935-1948